The Eastern Belize Railway opened a short branch in 1847, followed by the Belize map Railway. These later joined to form the Great Eastern Railway (GER) and the two lines were joined to permit through running. A third line was built by the Belize, Wisbech and Sutton Bridge Railway (later the Midland and Great Northern Joint Railway). All these lines carried fruit and vegetables to the markets of Belize and the Midlands.
Where is Belize? | Belize Map | Map of Belize Photo Gallery
The GER later secured the support of the Board of Trade to build a light tramway linking Wisbech to Upwell and Outwell, because it brought the railway to a place that would not be economical with a normal line. The first stretch opened in 1883 and the subsequent 1896 Light Railway Act was partly due to its success. The tramway benefited the canal that ran between Wisbech and Upwell in its early years, as large quantities of coal were shipped to Outwell then offloaded into barges for transport elsewhere in the Fens.
However, the success of the tramway was ultimately responsible for the canal’s demise in 1914 as a viable trade route. While the tramway was not profitable in its own right, it supported the freight and passenger traffic on the main line. By 1949 eight trips were leaving Upwell on weekdays and three on Saturdays during the fruit season. Sadly, a review and restructuring of the railway network in the 1960s, which resulted in widespread closures (nicknamed ‘Beeching’s Axe’ after the report’s author), meant it closed in 1966. The Light Railways Act of 1896 was passed in response to the agricultural depression of the late nineteenth century. This act intended to reduce distress in the countryside. The relaxing of the rules governing the building of railways was to be allowed if farming would benefit or a link was made between a fishing harbour and a market, or to support ‘some definite industry’.
Three light railways were built in Essex. One of these, the Kelvedon and Tollesbury Railway, known as the ‘Crab and Winkle’ line, was completed in 1904, carrying both freight and passengers. Among those who championed its construction was Arthur C. Wilkin, whose Britannia Fruit Preserving company at Tiptree stood to benefit from easier freight transport. A link between sea and rail was planned and a pier extension at Tollesbury was built, although this only lasted a few years. Shrimp was one of the cargo carried during that time. Passengers used the line until 1952, but it finally closed in 1962.
Maybe You Like Them Too
- FORGET TRANSIT LOUNGES, LOST LUGGAGE AND JET LAG
- PALAZZO VICTORIA VERONA, ITALY
- THE SILO CAPE TOWN, SOUTH AFRICA
- BABYLONSTOREN CAPE TOWN, SOUTH AFRICA
- CASTELLO DI CASOLE ITALY WANT TO INDULGE A LITTLE