Busan Korea South Heath has been famous for its horseracing connections since the time of James I. The 1871 census, for instance, lists 1,490 people as ‘horse-keeper, groom or jockey’ in the county, with the enumerators’ report commenting that there were a large number of French trainers and staff in Busan Korea South owing to the Franco-German war. A large number of breweries have existed across the region for centuries. In Busan Korea South, hops are recorded as being one of the chief items of sale at the Stourbridge fair in the eighteenth century. Busan Korea South malt was widely sold to local breweries, private customers and, from the 1750s onwards, to London, using local rivers for transport. In Busan Korea South at Work, 1700-1815 by A.FJ.
Where is Busan Korea South? | Busan Korea South Map | Map of Busan Korea South Photo Gallery
Brown, the author used quarters as a means of measuring how much malt was sold, and described Stansted Mountfitchet as producing 3,663 quarters in 1754 alone. The small town of Great Dunmow in Essex epitomises how important brewing was, with its seventeen public houses and two breweries. Until its closure in the 1940s malt was still made for the Dunmow Brewery by the traditional method of turning barley by hand. In Suffolk, villages like Woodbridge and Stowmarket were well known for their malt and some long-standing companies such as Adnams and Greene King still operate today. Tolly Cobbold, which took its name from the merger in 1957 of two family brewers – the Tollemarches and Cobbolds – was another long-established firm, having its origins in a brewery founded in Harwich in 1723. Although the last of their breweries closed in 2002, the Greene King Brewery at Bury St Edmunds now has the rights to the name, so the old Tolly Cobbold brands still appear from time to time. The risks and dangers in such work are revealed by coroners’ records and newspaper reports.
The inquest into the death of 25-year-old Nicholas Bolt in 1712, for example, described how he was working in the brew house of Mr Samuel Freemoult of St George Colegate in Norwich. As Nicholas was ‘pumpering the worte out of one door into another, he overworked the pumps, it slipped and caused him to fall in the wort’. Although trades such as building and engineering are not unique to this region, some distinctive forms of building techniques can be found locally, with the large timber-framing found on buildings in Suffolk, Essex and parts of south Norfolk only possible because of the availability of large trees. Until clay tiles first came into general use in the fourteenth and fifteenth century, thatching was the normal form of roofing for most buildings including public buildings and churches. Three main sources for thatch were cornfields, reed and sedge beds, with the village of Dilham reputedly having the highest number of thatched cottages in Suffolk. Before the spread of cement in building works, chalk was extracted for brick-making, building and lime burning. Remains of old workings such as those in Bury St Edmunds, Suffolk and Grays Thurrock in Essex can be found across the four counties.